How Ghana metamorphosed from 3 regions in 1902 to 16 regions in 2018-Counsellor Daniel Fenyi

Share this

Ghana has 16 regions now, but started with just 3 regions. Yes, we had Ashanti, Gold Coast Colony and Northern Territories by 1902.

1956: 4 regions- Ashanti, Gold Coast Colony, Northern Territories and Trans Volta Togoland.

1957: 5 regions- Ashanti (Kumasi), Eastern (Koforidua), Northern (Tamale), Trans-Volta Togoland (Ho), Western (Cape Coast).

1959: Ashanti region split into Ashanti and Brong-Ahafo regions.

1960: Northern region split into Northern and Upper regions.

1970: Western region split into Western (capital Sekondi) and Central (capital Cape Coast).

1971: Sekondi and Takoradi merged to form the twin city of Sekondi-Takoradi, the new capital of Western.

1982: Accra and Ada split from Eastern region to become Greater Accra (capital Accra).

1983: Upper region (capital Bolgatanga) split into Upper East and Upper West regions.

Now, Ghana has 16 regions: Upper West, North East, Upper East, Savannah, Northern, Bono East, Brong Ahafo, Oti, Ashanti, Ahafo, Eastern, Western, Western North, Central, Volta and Greater Accra.

Again, Ghana is in it’s 4th Republic. Here they are:

1st Republic- 1st July, 1960 and Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was president. It was overthrown by A.A. Afrifa on 24th February, 1966.

2nd Republic- 1st October, 1969 and the President was Dr. Abrefa Busia. It was overthrown by I.K Acheampong on 13th January, 1972.

3rd Republic- 24th September, 1972 and the President was Dr. Hilla Limann. It was overthrown by J.J. Rawlings on 31st December, 1981.

4th Republic- 7th January, 1993 and the President was J.J. Rawlings.

Currently, there are nine public universities in Ghana.

University of Ghana, legon

Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology Kumasi

University of Cape Coast , Cape Coast

University of Education , Winneba

University for Development Studies, Tamale

University of Mines and Technology, Tarkwa

university of health and allied science, Ho

university of energy and natural resource, sunyani

university of professional studies, Accra

Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA)

Ghana Institute of Languages (GIL)

National Film and Television Institute (NAFTI)

Ghana Institute Of Journalism GIJ

NB: GIL, NAFTI and GIJ are not fully-fledged universities but degree awarding.

  1. Ghana has 43 Colleges of Education (CoE) now turned into degree-awarding University Colleges. The first CoE is Presbyterian College of Education-Akropong Akwapim (1848) and the last is Al-Faruq College of Education, Wenchi/Droboso (2017).
  2. Ghana has 10 polytechnics now turned into HND/degree-awarding Technical Universities.
  3. There are 872 SHSs. 575 are government-managed schools while 297 are private schools. Ashanti Region has the highest number of schools with 149 schools while Upper West has lowest with 30.

If you need a passionate and deep thinking counsellor on decisions and choices you are about to make in life, call/whatsapp Counsellor Daniel Fenyi on +233242937017.

…….The End……

This article is registered. Don’t take away or add anything.

®Counsellor Daniel Fenyi

©Copyright Protected

Please Share!


Share this

Kennedy Mornah is an Award Winning Ghanaian Journalist with over two decades of experience in the Ghanaian Media landscape spanning the electronic, print and digital media. He is a Media Consultant, a Corporate MC, Radio and TV Host, Founder and Publisher of the Maritime and Transport Digest Newspaper, Businessman, a Go getter and an optimist. He has worked for renowned media organizations including Diamond Fm in Tamale, Luv Fm in Kumasi, Oman Fm in Accra and Starr Fm in Accra In 2017 he received the Reporter of the Year Award at the Ghana Shippers Awards in Accra, Ghana.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.