Reinstate 23 UEW staff – UTAG intensifies calls for investigations and resignation of Prof Afful-Broni

Share this

The National Executive Committee of the University Teachers’ Association of Ghana (UTAG) has called for the immediate reinstatement of all 23 staff of the University of Education, Winneba (UEW) who have been dismissed, demoted or suspended.

In addition, UTAG is demanding the immediate resignation of the vice-chancellor, Rev Fr. Professor Anthony Afful-Broni, for his vindictive attitude and failure to reconcile factions in the crises he created and benefitted from.

At a press conference yesterday, Dr Eric Opoku Mensah, National UTAG President, called for swift investigations to be conducted by the Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ) into the conflict of interest cited against Prof E.N. Abakah, Chairman of the Governing Council of UEW.

According to him, Prof E.N. Abakah, as Chairman of the Governing Council of UEW, must resign since he has failed to provide guidance and proper counsel to the entire Governing Council and the Management of UEW.

He also asked the National Council of Tertiary Education (NCTE), Ministry of Education, Economic and Organised Crime Office (EOCO) and the Office of the Special Prosecutor to investigate several allegations levelled against Prof Afful-Broni.

Dr Mensah demanded a probe into alleged promotions given to people who did not meet the requirements spelt out in the statutes of UEW.

The National UTAG President called on the Catholic Bishops Conference to call Rev Fr. Prof Afful-Broni to order since he has become very treacherous and vindictive.

“As a matter of urgency, neutral persons should be brought in to lead the Management of UEW and the council,” he added.

11 Teaching senior staff dismissed

The 11 teaching senior staff members who were dismissed are Prof Mawutor Avoke, Prof Avea Nsoh, Dr Samuel Ofori Bekoe, Dr Samuel Atintono, Dr Frimpong Kaakyire Duku, Dr Emmanuel Sarpong, Dr Phillip Omoregie Osamende, Dr Wisdom Hodzi, Ms Shine Agbevivi, Mr Kennedy Bodua-Mango, and Mr Lawrence Quarshie.

5 Non-teaching senior members of staff dismissed

The five non-teaching senior members of staff dismissed are Dr Theophilus S. Ackorlie, Frank Owusu Boateng, Mr Ing. Daniel Tetteh, Mary Dzimey, and Sena Dake.

3 Senior staff dismissed

Three other senior staff dismissed are Dennis Marfo, Ebenezer Bondzie, and David Adjaho.

4 Staff suspended and demoted

The four members of staff who were suspended and demoted are Mr Charles Edem Bedra (Snr Member), Mr Francis Amoni (Snr Staff), Mr Epiphany Agbeshie (Snr Member), and Eldad Tetteh (Snr Staff).

Dr Mensah stated that the National Executive Committee of UTAG would monitor the situation for a while, with the view of finding a lasting solution and an end to the victimisation of lecturers and other staff.

He warned that UTAG would advise itself if it sees no end in sight.

He emphasised that UTAG has a greater claim to the success of UEW than any council chair and vice-chancellor since they hold positions only for a short while whereas for UTAG, it is a lifetime enterprise.

Dr Mensah alleged that documents in possession of UTAG indicated that Prof Abakah used his position as Chairman of UEW Governing Council to engineer a retroactive application of a statutory provision which did not apply to him when he was in active service to gain promotion.

The National UTAG President accused UEW management and council, led by Prof Afful-Broni and Prof Abakah respectively, of embarking on a path to deepen a new culture of fear and silence on UEW campus.

“This culture is antithetical to the very spirit of academia. UTAG strongly admonishes any group or groups interested in the proper corporate culture of a 21st century university to visit UEW, and, without doubt, one will witness the collapse of deliberations, consensus building and freedom of expression on the campus,” he said.

Source: The Finder

Share this

Kennedy Mornah is an Award Winning Ghanaian Journalist with over two decades of experience in the Ghanaian Media landscape spanning the electronic, print and digital media. He is a Media Consultant, a Corporate MC, Radio and TV Host, Founder and Publisher of the Maritime and Transport Digest Newspaper, Businessman, a Go getter and an optimist. He has worked for renowned media organizations including Diamond Fm in Tamale, Luv Fm in Kumasi, Oman Fm in Accra and Starr Fm in Accra In 2017 he received the Reporter of the Year Award at the Ghana Shippers Awards in Accra, Ghana.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.