Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah to fund best teacher awards in Techiman for 10 years, donates car to Best Teacher today.

Share this

Deputy Minister for Regional Reorganisation and Development, Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah has promised to fund for the next 10 years, the Best Teacher Awards scheme at Techiman in the Brong Ahafo Region.

His desire to carry out this noble project of rewarding deserving teachers in the Techiman area according to him, is hinged on appeals made to him by renowned educationists in the area, coupled with consultations with stakeholders.

The Minister has therefore instituted a 5 member committee who have been clothed with the mandate of seeing to the awards and ensuring that only deserving teachers are recognized.

Mr. Adjei-Mensah Korsah who issued a statement detailing how the awards scheme came about, added that ‘’the committee has chosen today, Friday, October 5th, 2018, which incidentally is International Teachers Day, to hold the event in Techiman and will present a car to the first prize winner at exactly 10 am this morning’’

See below, his full statement as captured on his Facebook page.



Last year, I participated in the Farmers’ Day celebration in Nsuta Techiman. After that event, I received a request from a retired teacher to institute an awards scheme to reward teachers in Techiman for their selfless contributions in educating our people.

The same request had been made earlier to me by the Municipal Education Directorate of Techiman, then headed by the Very Rev. Philip Obeng Adjei.

Upon consultations with Education stakeholders within the Techiman enclave, I acceded to the request and pledged publicly, on New Year’s Day to initiate an awards scheme that would reward deserving teachers beginning 2018.

For the long term, I am securing a sustainable arrangement that guarantees these event’s funding, at least for the next ten (10) years.

A planning committee has been set up comprising:

  1. Mr. Seth Assa-Adjei – A Retired Educationist (Chairman).
  2. Mr. Yakubu Mubarak – Head teacher.
  3. Madam Faustina Asantewaa – A Teacher.
  4. Alhaji Bukari Salifu – NDC Constituency Chairman, Techiman North.
  5. Hon. Akwasi Yeboah Asuamah – Former Presiding Member, Techiman Municipal Assembly.

The committee is tasked to organise the event, including determining the nature of the awards to be presented to the awardees.

The committee has received from the Ghana Education Service, a list of 192 teachers, who since 2009 have been selected through the G.E.S.’ own internal procedures to be rewarded for their outstanding contributions to the education of students in both Techiman North District and Techiman Municipality, but till date has not happened. For the avoidance of discrimination, we would recognise Teachers who have been selected as winners of various categories of awards in the past but have not been  rewarded.  It would be climaxed with award winners for 2018.

The committee has chosen today, Friday, October 5th, 2018, which incidentally is International Teachers Day, to hold the event in Techiman and will present a car to the first prize winner at exactly 10am this morning.

I am passionate about enhancing the future of our young people. Education remains key in this endeavour  and I seek your support in this regard.

Thank you.


Hon. Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah, Deputy Minister for Regional Re-organisation and Development.


Share this

Kennedy Mornah is an Award Winning Ghanaian Journalist with over two decades of experience in the Ghanaian Media landscape spanning the electronic, print and digital media. He is a Media Consultant, a Corporate MC, Radio and TV Host, Founder and Publisher of the Maritime and Transport Digest Newspaper, Businessman, a Go getter and an optimist. He has worked for renowned media organizations including Diamond Fm in Tamale, Luv Fm in Kumasi, Oman Fm in Accra and Starr Fm in Accra In 2017 he received the Reporter of the Year Award at the Ghana Shippers Awards in Accra, Ghana.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.