NPP inaugurates national parliamentary appeals committee

Share this

The General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr John Boadu, on Wednesday, August, 21, 2019, officially inaugurated the party’s National Parliamentary Appeals Committee at the party headquarters.

This is in line with the party’s guidelines and modalities for the conduct of its parliamentary primaries in orphan constituencies in all regions of the country.

The committee will, among other things, receive and resolve petitions or appeals from disgruntled aspiring parliamentary candidates from Thursday, August 22 to Monday, August 26, 2019.

The members of the 7-member committee were sworn in under oath, administered by the General Secretary of the party, after which copies of the vetting reports from all the 16 regions of the country were handed over to the committee for their indulgence.

The National Parliamentary Appeals Committee is composed of the following members:

  1. Peter Mac Manu, (Chairman)
  2. Hon. Elizabeth Ohene
  3. Hon. Cecilia Dapaah
  4. Hon. S.K. Boafo
  5. Lawyer Joyce Opoku Boateng
  6. Lawyer Emmanuel Darkwah
  7. Lawyer Garry Nimako
  8. Evans Nimako (Secretary)

The committee has up to the 5th of September to present its final report to the General Secretary. After the report, the party will hold a National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting on September 12, 2019, whereas Notice of Polls will be published by the national secretariat on September 14, 2019 and parliamentary primaries will be held on September, 28 2019.

These timelines supersede all previous dates communicated to the public in cases of variations.




Share this

Kennedy Mornah is an Award Winning Ghanaian Journalist with over two decades of experience in the Ghanaian Media landscape spanning the electronic, print and digital media. He is a Media Consultant, a Corporate MC, Radio and TV Host, Founder and Publisher of the Maritime and Transport Digest Newspaper, Businessman, a Go getter and an optimist. He has worked for renowned media organizations including Diamond Fm in Tamale, Luv Fm in Kumasi, Oman Fm in Accra and Starr Fm in Accra In 2017 he received the Reporter of the Year Award at the Ghana Shippers Awards in Accra, Ghana.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.